M.C. Beaton a.k.a. Marion Chesney 1

5.00 avg. rating (96% score) - 1 vote

M.C. Beaton a.k.a. Marion ChesneyMarion Chesney, the Grande Dame of Regency Romances, is a very versatile and entertaining author. Writing under the pseudonyms Anne Fairfax, Jennie Tremaine and M.C. Beaton she has penned dozens of novels from amusing regencies to mysteries, including the Hamish Macbeth, Agatha Raisin, and Lady Rose (Edwardian set mysteries – WONDERFUL!!) series.  Her wry humor comes across regardless of what genre she is penning.  Her heroes are diverse, and very swoonable, and her heroines are always unique. And her series within the Regencies, like the School of Manners, the Six Sisters  and House for a Season are fantastic.  None of the novels reads like a carbon copy of the other, and each heroine has her own vulnerabilities and her own strengths.

And did I mention that in the Six Sisters series, one of her heroes looks like Lucius Malfoy?  Well, okay Jason Isaacs as Malfoy. YUM! As if that wasn’t temptation enough!

I could wax poetic, really I could, about this wonderful author, but i think her work speaks for itself.  My mother, not much of a reader, gobbles her books up.  The friends who have read her rave about her, and my mother-in-law loved her Edwardian set mysteries.  She investigates her time period so well, and obviously enjoys what she does, that it comes out in her work. Her attention to detail is extraordinary, but she does not get bogged down in details. It merely comes across.

If you like Barbara Metzger, I’m sure you’ll enjoy Marion Chesney.  And her bibliography will take you aaaages to read through, so you won’t have to wait with bated breath for a new one right away!

She has recently reprinted many of her Regencies as epub books, so if you missed them in print, you can still track them down and enjoy them. She is most often found now as M.C.Beaton.

Ms. Chesney/Ms. Beaton, you’re my heroine!




Regency Royals

  • The Desirable Duchess
  • Her Grace’s Passion
  • The Sins of Lady Dacey
  •  My Dear Duchess
  • Lady Lucy’s Lover
  • The Scandalous Marriage
  • The Westerbury Inheritance
  • The Marquis Takes a Bride
  • Lady Anne’s Deception
  • Lady Margery’s Intrigue
  • The Savage Marquess
  • The Highland Countess
  • The Ghost and Lady Alice
  • Love and Lady Lovelace
  • The Duke’s Diamonds
  • The Viscount’s Revenge
  • The Paper Princess
  • The Dreadful Debutante
  • The Chocolate Debutante
  • The Loves of Lord Granton
  • Milady in Love

The Traveling Matchmaker:

The Regency Candlelight Series:

  • Annabelle
  • Henrietta
  • Penelope

The Six Sisters:

  • Minerva
  • The Taming of Annabelle
  • Dierdre And Desire
  • Daphne
  • Diana the Huntress
  • Fredericka in Fashion

The Waverly Women:

  • The First Rebellion
  • Silken Bonds
  • The Love Match

A House for the Season Series:

  • The Miser of Mayfair
  • Plain Jane
  • The Wicked Godmother
  • Rake’s Progress
  • The Adventuress
  • Rainbird’s Revenge

Regency Scandal Series:

  • The Scandalous Lady Wright
  • His Lordship’s Pleasure
  • Her Grace’s Passion

The Daughters of Mannerling Series:

  • Banishment
  • Intrigue
  • Deception
  • Folly
  • Romance
  • Homecoming

Edwardian Candlelight Series:

  • Polly
  • Molly
  • Ginny
  • Tilly
  • Susie
  • Kitty
  • Daisy
  • Sally
  • Maggie
  • Poppy
  • Pretty Polly
  • Lucy
  • My Lords, Ladies and Marjorie

Regency Flame:

  • Regency Gold

The School for Manner Series:

The Poor Relation Series:

  • Lady Fortescue Steps Out
  • Miss Tonks Turns to Crime
  • Mrs. Budley Falls From Grace
  • Sir Phillip’s Folly
  • Colonel Sandhurst to the Rescue
  • Back in Society





About Morticia

I am in desperate need of chocolate. I'm an avid reader of paranormals, historicals, urban fantasy, regencies, and erotic romance. I write in the genres I love to read, at least when I don't have a multi-tasking breakdown! Did I mention I need chocolate?

Leave a Comment

One thought on “M.C. Beaton a.k.a. Marion Chesney